Handling Tough Customers – Part Two

In my previous post, Handling Tough Customers – Part One, I began the discussion about how to go about dealing with customers that might be giving you a run for your money. I discussed letting the customer vent, listening actively, and showing empathy. These three things (and the ones that I am about to talk about) are very important to handling those tough customers that everyone dreads.

Stay calm, cool and professional
This hint might be the most important of all of them. I think it is pertinent to demonstrate emotional control because it allows us to keep our minds clear so that we may present our customers with the best solutions possible. We cannot take their frustrations personally because as soon as you do, you lose your ability to rationally problem solve for both the customer and your company. It is important to remain professional and to never talk down about yourself or your company. Stay confident, yet humble and professional.

Fix the problem at hand immediately
I still dabble in wedding and event planning and will always love it. My boss at that job gave me one of the best pieces of advice that I have ever received about customer service. Here it is… When a customer comes to you with a problem, it should be you that fixes it. Sounds pretty common sense right? But think about all the times that you have passed a problem on to someone else because it might be a little bit more convenient or a little bit more in their job description. I know I have done it but think about it… When a customer asks us to solve a problem, we should really be the one who takes action and follows through. We should work hard to present them with a solution and make sure that everything is taken care of. This shows them that we care and that we have the time to make sure their concerns are taken care of.

Send them away with SOMETHING
Working in healthcare has taught me that people want to be listened to, but often it is also important that we send them away with something that made their trip worthwhile. People do not want their time, money, or energy to be wasted. This means that we must make our customers feel that they are leaving with something. In healthcare it might be a consultation, some sympathy, or even a prescription. We must make our customers feel like we listened and acted on their concerns.

Tough customers are an awesome opportunity to build stronger relationships. It is truly on us to take advantage of a crappy situation and turn it into something positive.

What do you think? Do you think I forgot something? Please comment below if there are any hints that you have about dealing with tough customers…

2 thoughts on “Handling Tough Customers – Part Two

  1. Katie Shive says:

    Hi Samantha, I can tell you’ve lived all of these tips personally. What sticks out to me the most is staying calm, cool, and professional. You are so right in that when you get emotionally involved, you often times lose your ability to respond rationally. I have countless tales of upset customers that easily could have gotten under my skin on a personal level. However, listening to them and finding a way to be firm yet empathetic has served me well. Thanks for sharing your expertise!

    Like

Leave a comment